Visas and residence permits

Citizens of the EU and Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland do not need a visa to enter the country; however, if they stay for longer than 30 days, they have to register with the Foreign Police. If they are staying for longer than 3 months, they can apply for a residence permit.

Citizens of other countries have to apply for a visa before entering the Czech Republic. The steps citizens from a third country (i.e., those who are not citizens of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, or Switzerland) must take prior to arrival vary according to their planned length of stay:

We recommend contacting the national point for international resarches – EURAXESS, with whom the fakulty cooperates.